Short movie on privacy and data collection in America

This is the short movie I have made for my New Communications Technologies assessment. I have decided to focus on America, specifically the NSA, and the privacy scandal that has been going on for some time now. I feel like this is an important new communication technology issue in today’s society because privacy violation, or data collection, is prevalent among many companies and governments.
I went with creating an animation as I wanted the video to look like President Obama addressing the nation on television. I wanted to portray what I think the government would say about, and how they would defend, these programs if they were obliged to tell the truth. I feel like this is the spin they would put on it, and I’ve added in some sarcasm as well because I think the government would know what they are doing is unconstitutional.

The following are a few websites I used to refresh my memory on what the NSA has been up to:

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2013/aug/11/nsa-internet-surveillance-email

http://www.npr.org/2014/10/14/356127807/debate-does-mass-phone-data-collection-violate-the-4th-amendment

https://www.eff.org/nsa-spying/how-it-works

Leave a Reply

