Introduction

Hello, 

I see you’ve stumbled across my weblog! If you aren’t my tutor/one of my peers then I am very surprised, and impressed, with your stalking (/people researching) skills. Welcome, let me tell you a bit about myself. 

My name is Melinda and I am currently in the process of completing my second semester at Griffith University. I am enrolled in a Bachelor of Arts (I know, but – wait, let me explain) and have no chosen major at this point in time. The reason I am in something as vague as a Bachelor of Arts with a non-existent major is because I am working my butt off to improve my ranking and transfer into a degree in the health/nutrition area. See? Aren’t you glad you gave me a chance?! 

I graduated high school in November of 2011 and am now a 20 year old girl who finally figured out what she wanted to be. My passion has always been food, taking care of myself and those around me, and even researching foods/diets/lifestyles and their effects on overall health but for some reason, I always had it in my head that I needed  a ‘real job’ and that ‘real job’ can’t possibly be something you enjoy, right?! This thought process has led me to many failed attempts in various careers – psychology, dental work, law (to name a few). It wasn’t until I stumbled across the world of health style blogging that I became aware of the potential career that my passion could bring me. I began to understand how many health/fitness related companies employ nutritionist/dietitians and social media experts to promote their brand and that that is a very real career these days. 

So, that’s my story so far. I am hoping this class will help me understand new communication technologies as that is an area I am very much interested in. I am hoping to learn how to utilize these new tools to be beneficial to me and my career. 

One thought on “Introduction

Leave a Reply

